Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > New Members - Start here! > New Member Introductions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-05-2010, 09:09 AM   #1

Tire Recommendation?

I'm a newb and I need a tire recommendation. I basically inherited a '97 boxster with about 32k miles. Lots of fun to drive.

Dealer quoted $1,200 for a set of Michelin PS2 Sports or something like that...

I'd like to spend under $1,000.

Any help?

Thanks,
Steve

P.S. - still looking for a mechanic in Minneapolis/St. Paul area, other than the 2 dealers in town....

ssitek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 09:23 AM   #2

A week ago, I replaced Bridgestone RE050A Pole Positions (great tire) with Sumitomo HTR Z III's. So far I'm very impressed by the Sumi's. Smooth, quiet, ride well, great turn in response, very good grip. Not too impressed by braking... that is their one weak point.

Very affordable compared to other 3-season perf tires.
Lucky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 09:26 AM   #3
Track rat

Garage
Lots of choices in that price range. Will you ever drive it in snow or below 40F. How important is tread wear, dry grip, road noise, wet traction?
Old 05-05-2010, 10:11 AM   #4

Thanks Topless. I won't drive in snow or below 40F, unless its by accident. Probably the most important factors are noise and dry grip. I'm basically driving it on the weekends with the wife for fun and to and from work a couple days a week on some cool windy roads by our house.
Old 05-05-2010, 10:32 AM   #5
Track rat

Garage
The Sumi HTRZ III would be a good choice then...Near Michelin PS2 grip and road manners for about $500-600 a set mounted in SoCal. The Dunlop Direzza Z1 Star Spec will give you more grip and a bit more road noise and are very good in the wet but more $$.

Here is a very useful link for tire comparisons: http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tests/testDisplay.jsp?ttid=93

Enjoy!

Last edited by Topless; 05-05-2010 at 10:42 AM.