Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster and Cayman Classified Ads > Boxsters and Cayman Cars for Sale or Wanted

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-21-2014, 08:37 AM   #1

Winter Storage Questions

This will be the first time I've ever stored a car and I want to do it right. I've read and heard some conflicting answers to these questions. What is your opinion. I will change the oil before storing the car.

Emergency Brake... on or off?
Leave it in gear?
1 or 2 Stabil?
Put mothballs in trunk, frunk, passenger cabin, exhaust pipes?
Inflate tires to 50?

Anything else I should be doing?

Larry (the Bald Eagle)

Bald Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2014, 10:00 AM   #2

This is my first year storing my car as well, so have been reading heavily. I've read that bounce-type dryer sheets work well in the car to help keep rodents and such away. Better option than mothballs - the smell will be much more pleasant come spring.

Also read that you have to watch what you are parking it on. Cold cement floors are bad for tires apparently, so should put some plastic and maybe a little carpeting under the tires?
Old 10-21-2014, 10:10 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bald Eagle View Post
This will be the first time I've ever stored a car and I want to do it right. I've read and heard some conflicting answers to these questions. What is your opinion. I will change the oil before storing the car.

Emergency Brake... on or off?
Leave it in gear?
1 or 2 Stabil?
Put mothballs in trunk, frunk, passenger cabin, exhaust pipes?
Inflate tires to 50?

Anything else I should be doing?

Larry (the Bald Eagle)
Brake off. Chock the wheels with a small block of wood.
Out of gear, so you can roll it a little bit each month to further minimize flatspotting.
Add Sta-Bil at a rate of 1 ounce per 2.5 gallons of fuel (I double dose because my car sits for 6 months).