Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-18-2020, 01:17 AM   #1

Garage
Talking Stephen's journey with the yellow 986

What's up 986forum. I've been working on my car for quite a few months now. I thought I'd create a thread here as a journal of sorts, for everyone's entertainment (and for my own motivation). So you can see the car come apart, and HOPEFULLY make its way back together. I bought this car late last summer from a gentleman in Portland, OR.

To start, my old man brought up his 911 from 'back in the day' a few times while I was growing up. He's owned many collectable cars in the past, but this one was the one. He didn't have any photos to show me, until I found one while cleaning the garage one day. He told me it was an unsightly boring color when he first bought it. I think it was a tan color, sorta like something grandma would drive (hopefully not offending anyone here.) He spent many many nights after work meticulously taking it apart and sanding it for a perfect yellow paint job. The color a Porsche really ought to be, he's always said. The photo shows a beautiful car completed with his own hands. I told him he shouldn't have sold it, but they weren't worth such a pretty penny back then. Who would've known. Plus, he needed money to start his family when I came around. Darn. Happy to be here though! Don't get me wrong haha. So yeah, there's some backstory behind my inspiration.

Dad's old 911

So a Craigslist ad popped up last summer for a stock speed yellow 986 in excellent condition with ~60k miles. It's got quite a few options on it too. What a find! I thought this was a great opportunity. I checked it out, liked what I saw, and bought it on the spot. I think my dad is more into the car than I am myself hahaha. Good! It's something we both can enjoy.

A few weeks after I had bought it.