Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-04-2016, 06:41 AM   #1

Garage
Does Ethanol Free Gas Need Stabil?

My Boxster has about a half tank of Ethanol Free Gas for Winter storage.

Should I add fuel stabilizer during storage? Or, should the Ethanol Free gas by itself do what Stabil fuel is intended to do when 10% Ethanol gas is used?

Old 12-04-2016, 06:58 AM   #2

Yes any automotive gasoline will degrade with time. Very good idea to add the Stabil.

Brian
BrianStam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2016, 07:00 AM   #3

I've been storing multiple vehicles for the winter for 40 years and have never once used fuel stabilizer. I have never had a problem, ethanol or no ethanol. I do always fill the tank completely up to help ensure no water condenses in the tank over the winter however.
Old 12-04-2016, 07:01 AM   #4

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianStam View Post
Yes any automotive gasoline will degrade with time. Very good idea to add the Stabil.

Brian
"Better Safe than Sorry"

Thanks
Old 12-04-2016, 08:56 AM   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave S. View Post
I've been storing multiple vehicles for the winter for 40 years and have never once used fuel stabilizer. I have never had a problem, ethanol or no ethanol. I do always fill the tank completely up to help ensure no water condenses in the tank over the winter however.
You just might be surprised at how many cars get flat bedded to the shop every spring when they won't start or only run poorly due to fuel related issues. By comparison, StaBil is cheap compared to what it costs to disassemble and clean out a fuel system with bad gas in it.
Old 12-04-2016, 11:51 AM   #6