986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners

986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners (http://986forum.com/forums/)
-   Boxster General Discussions (http://986forum.com/forums/boxster-general-discussions/)
-   -   Cheap tires, What to do? (http://986forum.com/forums/boxster-general-discussions/61905-cheap-tires-what-do.html)

78F350 06-06-2016 12:30 PM

Cheap tires, What to do?

I have a decent set of 18" wheels with three almost new tires on them. I have not driven on them yet. They are jut part of what has been accumulating since I started playing with these cars. The rears are Sumitomo HTR Z II, the ONE front tire I have is a Dunlop Direzza DZ101. I have searched and read reviews. Seems they are not well regarded as high performance tires, but they are almost new and I can't just waste them. What do you recommend:
-Buy another DZ101 for the front?
-Buy a pair of HTR Z II s for the front?
-Throw them all in a dumpster and burn them?
- ...or something else I haven't considered?

Thanks

Smallblock454 06-06-2016 12:49 PM

Get a used tyre for the front, do some drift- and a drivers security trainings with and then dump them. ;) Drift trainings are fun. Have a wheel set just for driver and drift trainings.

Regards, Markus

rick3000 06-06-2016 01:36 PM

I have heard good thinks about the HTR Z II for an inexpensive tire. Depending on the rear tread (i.e. - are they almost gone or brand new?) I would buy a matching pair for the front and try to sell the lone Dunlop. You probably won't get much for the lone tire, but you would be surprised how many people buy used tires. :cheers:

jdraupp 06-06-2016 04:51 PM

The htr iis are so inexpensive I'd grab two of those and use them for track and de like Markus suggests. I just got all new htr iiis on the car and am so far very impressed especially for the price.

itsnotanova 06-06-2016 05:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rick3000 (Post 498719)