986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners

986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners (http://986forum.com/forums/)
-   Boxster General Discussions (http://986forum.com/forums/boxster-general-discussions/)
-   -   Anyone here work on their own cars? (http://986forum.com/forums/boxster-general-discussions/61293-anyone-here-work-their-own-cars.html)

professorman 04-19-2016 11:39 AM

Anyone here work on their own cars?

I consider myself a hobbyist mechanic. I do most work on my cars except internal engine work.

I have mainly had Hondas, BMWs, motorcycles and jetskis. This is my first time having a Porsche. I plan on doing most of my work myself. I do not have a garage.

How many of you work on your own Porsche for most repairs?

CoBeerToad 04-19-2016 11:44 AM

I do. Not so much for the pleasure of a job well done, but I can't afford shop prices.

I don't do internal engine work and I avoid suspension work like the plague. That is money well spent for a job I don't want anything to do with.

BoxsterSteve 04-19-2016 11:48 AM

I've done plugs, fuel filter, water pump, tstat and coolant, full front brake job, brake fluid flush, trans fluid change, cleaned the throttle body & MAF, and done several oil changes.
Things are a bit goofy to get at, seeing many of the serviceale items are reached from under the car or through one of the access hatches, but once you wrap your head around that, it's no different than working on almost anything else.

Porsche9 04-19-2016 11:51 AM

Just don't have the time and equipment to do anything more then light maintanance. When I have more time or I'm retired I will do most of the work myself as I do enjoy working on my own cars.

particlewave 04-19-2016 11:57 AM

No one touches my cars naughty bits but me.

I had Firestone mount four tires for me a couple months ago and they managed to screw that up. This is why I do all my own work.

rick3000 04-19-2016 12:07 PM