Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-06-2015, 06:41 PM   #1

Garage
Base or S Model

Hi guys...
I've been watching and learning for a while and now here I am

I'm hoping to get a nice unit between 98 and 03 depending on what it is.

My question is what is the main difference between the Base unit and the "S"?

And which one would you recommend I get as I'm new to the sport?

I hope you can help me with the pros and cons, is one more or less expensive to maintain than the other etc.

I do have some mechanical skills but I would love to learn more and be able to some work on it myself.

An old associate told me that you have to get the S. This was his reasoning.

"He says that with the base you will get to many tickets.....With the S you can feel and hear the road more so it keeps your speed in check..."

I'm sure there are many more logical reasons why to get one or the other.

I look forward to all comments, and thanks in advance for all your help.

Bart

Muskoka Minute is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2015, 07:04 PM   #2

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Muskoka Minute View Post
Hi guys...
I've been watching and learning for a while and now here I am

I'm hoping to get a nice unit between 98 and 03 depending on what it is.

My question is what is the main difference between the Base unit and the "S"?

And which one would you recommend I get as I'm new to the sport?

I hope you can help me with the pros and cons, is one more or less expensive to maintain than the other etc.

I do have some mechanical skills but I would love to learn more and be able to some work on it myself.

An old associate told me that you have to get the S. This was his reasoning.

"He says that with the base you will get to many tickets.....With the S you can feel and hear the road more so it keeps your speed in check..."