986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners

986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners (http://986forum.com/forums/)
-   Boxster General Discussions (http://986forum.com/forums/boxster-general-discussions/)
-   -   Engine Immobilizer (http://986forum.com/forums/boxster-general-discussions/53918-engine-immobilizer.html)

timothy white 09-02-2014 08:51 AM

Engine Immobilizer

Rained in my car and ruined the engine immobilizer. I am 150 miles from dealer and don't want to haul car that far. I found a set that has keys,ignition switch,immobilizer and some small box electrical part from a wrecked car. If I buy this for $450.00 will I still have to take to Porsche to have all this programed ?

Deserion 09-02-2014 09:30 AM

I'm not an expert on this, but I believe it would still need to be adapted to the DME and gauge cluster. If there's an independent Porsche shop closer to you with a PIWIS or PST2, they may be able to handle that.

mikefocke 09-02-2014 09:48 AM

How are you so sure it is permanently ruined? I'm assuming it is the box under the driver's seat.

Pedro said:

"Try removing the driver's seat and then the CLU.

Disconnect it from its harness, remove it from the car and open the case.

Remove the printed circuit board and dunk it in a shallow recipient and cover it with isopropyl alcohol.

Shake it well so the alcohol penetrates all the spaces, in particular between the chips and connections.

Then, let it dry. You can accelerate the drying by using a hair dryer in the cool mode.

Dry out the inside of the case if it had humidity and put everything back together.

If it was water causing the problem, it should now work fine.

We have saved many CLUs this way."

I think you should disconnect the battery first as you are playing with airbag connections.

Can't be as bad as, when I was deployed, a mechanic left the top down and the floor boards rusted through on my Alfa.

jsceash 09-02-2014 10:05 AM