Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-07-2006, 05:32 AM   #1

Gear Shifting 101

This may sound silly but I taught myself how to drive stick in 2000 on a 3 series but still have a few questions as I don't want to hurt this car:

Is it OK to start the car (2005 non S boxster) in 2nd gear for most circumstances (as long as it is not up hill)?
The manual says not to "lug" the engine. What does it mean to "lug" the engine?

2005 Porsche Boxster
2007 Lexus LS460
2004 Lexus RX
luxury1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2006, 05:38 AM   #2

I am by no means an expert, but I think the Boxster gearing is not conducive to 2nd gear starts unless you are drifting down hill.
Onad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2006, 06:08 AM   #3

Hi,

You lug the engine when you try to accelerate in too high a gear . You make the Engine work harder than it's supposed to. Just like you would work harder if you rode a bicycle up a steep hill in 12th gear as opposed to first gear.

When the engine is over-worked, it overheats. The way it overheats is that the temperature inside the cylinders gets too high. When that happens, the Air/Fuel mixture which is supposed to combust as the spark plug fires, detonates unpredictably before the Spark occurs. That's called pinging , when those detonations make a sound like marbles rolling around.

And, under the worst of circumstances, you can also get piston slap, which is a clunky noise. Because you are getting uneven combustion inside the cylinder (the detonation doesn't necessarily happen at the right time or in the right spot), the explosion can force the piston off to one side when it descends during the power stroke. When that happens repeatedly, the cylinder walls get all scraped up, and over time, your Engine becomes less powerful, more noisey and will start to burn Oil prematurely.