Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-06-2011, 07:24 AM   #1

Air/Oil Separator Removal and Installation

I just replaced my AOS yesterday and I would like to share with you how I accomplished this task. It is not easy and I have to do it by trial and error specially its my first time to do it. I did it in my driveway. I have 2002 base boxster.

Removing the AOS is a PIA.
1.) I have to jack up the car and remove the passenger side rear tire.

2.) Remove the air intake tube, wire connector and all other hoses. See Pedros Garage for more information.

3.) Disconnect the oil filler tube that run across that top of the engine to create more space in front of AOS.

4.) Disconnect all tubes from AOS. This is not easy unless you have a small hand like me. To do it, you have to press the plastic connector ring and simultaneously pull out the tube.

5.) Remove the two small bolts (10 mm) holding the AOS through the tire well. This is for the 2002 model. You have to use a very short open/close offset wrench to get these bolts. You only have almost 1 inch clearance to do the bottom bolt. Not easy. I had a lot of frustrations and cursing.

6.) Once the AOS is free from all the flexible (upper) tubes, the bottom rubber accordion type tube (sleeve) that is connected on top of the engine block is a problem. I can not get a plier to disengage the metal clamp. Since I am replacing it, I don't care if I break it. So I forcefully pull it out and use utility cutter to cut the rubber accordion tube. This is the only way I can get the AOS free.