986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners

986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners (http://986forum.com/forums/)
-   Boxster General Discussions (http://986forum.com/forums/boxster-general-discussions/)
-   -   Freezing weather (http://986forum.com/forums/boxster-general-discussions/43351-freezing-weather.html)

Timco 02-28-2013 05:21 AM

Freezing weather

So my baby is garaged, but down to high 30's at night.

How long do you let your B'ster warm up before driving off?

CoBeerToad 02-28-2013 05:25 AM

I'm no expert, but I always wait until the air pump (I think that's what it's called) stops running. About 45-75 seconds.

smagerstein 02-28-2013 05:27 AM

Hi,

I start it and wait for the revs to drop to 700 or so, then go, but keeping the revs under 4k til its at normal temp (maybe 5 min or so)

Have been doing that for 6 years and no problems.

AndyA6 02-28-2013 06:33 AM

No need to warm up..... the faster the engine warms up the better. Idle when cold runs very rich and the gas will wash off the oil in the cylinder walls and also gets in the oil. Investigate a bit and come to your own conclusion. Not to mention the environment.

JMHO.

Timco 02-28-2013 06:36 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AndyA6 (Post 329356)
No need to warm up..... the faster the engine warms up the better. Idle when cold runs very rich and the gas will wash off the oil in the cylinder walls and also gets in the oil. Investigate a bit and come to your own conclusion. Not to mention the environment.

JMHO.

Agreed on the enviro issue. New Porsche owner. Don't want to hurt anything.

Nimbus117 02-28-2013 06:51 AM

I normally just wait 30 seconds for the oil to circulate before moving off and putting any load on the engine. Then keep it below 3.5k for about 10 minutes when the oil is up to temperature.

Mark_T 02-28-2013 07:11 AM