Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-24-2005, 06:41 PM   #1

Autocross...Wow!

Went to my first PCA meeting this weekend and they had an autocross in the parking lot of the stadium. Wasn't planning on running since I have never done it before and quite frankly don't want the wear and tear. Anywho, got talked into running two laps and had a blast! The Boxster is a monster! I rode around the track in a couple 911s and they have nothing on the Box in the handling department. I went around the track in a GT2,C4S and a Turbo. I do think the Box has much better handling than those two cars, however HP is HP so they obviously were a little faster. Don't really plan on participating again, but I would suggest that everyone at least try it someday just to see the incredible handling that you don't get to see on the street. All I can say is WOW!

Cheers.

RC-12 Guardrail
RC-7 Crazy Hawk

"If the wings are traveling faster than
the fuselage, it's probably a helicopter--
and therefore, unsafe" --Unknown
Rail26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2005, 09:12 PM   #2

Hi,

I regularly Auto-X mine and it's a great Car. I'm consistently in the fastest group, usually far outpacing the 911s in the Group.

It really all depends upon how the course is set up. If I go to the Corvette Club Auto-Xs, they set the course up to favor their HP advantage and it shows, fewer gates and more straights, same often w/ the 911 group.

But, when I go to Brit Club meets, they favor lots of gates and tight turning and the Boxster more than holds it's own.

Glad you had a great time, I suspect you'll feel the lure to do more...

Happy Motoring!...Jim'99
MNBoxster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2005, 12:37 PM   #3