986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners

986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners (http://986forum.com/forums/)
-   Boxster General Discussions (http://986forum.com/forums/boxster-general-discussions/)
-   -   Boxster Coolant Leak (http://986forum.com/forums/boxster-general-discussions/35120-boxster-coolant-leak.html)

BimmersInGA 04-26-2012 10:58 AM

Boxster Coolant Leak

I recently purchased an '02 Boxster with about 97K on the clock. Overall, the car is in pretty good shape, but it does have a few issues that will need to be sorted out.

After leaving it parked overnight, I am finding a small puddle of coolant under the front left corner of the car. I did a quick look underneath and there is a definite wet spot on the plastic panel behind the bumper. Is this a common leak, and is there a common fix?

I have owned and worked on BMWs for the last 20 years and am all too familiar with their notoriously crappy cooling systems. But I am new to Porsches and will have to learn their quirks.

Doing some research seems to suggest that access to the radiators is gained by removing the front bumper. But before I do that, I just want to know if there is anything in particular I should be looking for. Are there known weak spots in the cooling system that I should know about?

coolbreeze551 04-26-2012 11:13 AM

Water pump is a likely culprit

BimmersInGA 04-26-2012 11:20 AM

Come again? How would a leaky water pump cause a leak at the front of the car? Wouldn't the leak be under the engine?

san rensho 04-26-2012 03:20 PM

You can take off the wheel and fender liner and see most of the hoses to check for leaks, but if there is no obviuos hose leak you will probably have to take off the front bumper cover (fairly easy) to check the radiator for leaks. Its a good idea to take off the cover so you can clean all the crud out of the radiators, condensers.

thstone 04-26-2012 04:04 PM