986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners

986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners (http://986forum.com/forums/)
-   Boxster General Discussions (http://986forum.com/forums/boxster-general-discussions/)
-   -   removing drivers seat (http://986forum.com/forums/boxster-general-discussions/31156-removing-drivers-seat.html)

pjS03 11-19-2011 03:07 AM

removing drivers seat

How difficult is it to remove the drivers seat?
The previous owner drove her daily for 8 years .
The center of seat is bottomed out , and needs re filling and raising to its proper height.
thanks in advance for any help in this matter. I am new at this, have only had the car since last Sat. when I drove it home from Dallas,Tx.
Its an 03 S which has the electric back adj.
thanks,
Peter

jmatta 11-19-2011 03:29 AM

Four bolts and an electrical connector which needs to be detached. You need to detach the plastic trim at the front of the seat to expose the forward bolts; the rears are exposed when you move the seat forward.

John99Boxster 11-19-2011 03:57 AM

Do a bit more research before you remove the electrical connection...I seem to remember something to do with disconnecting the battery first or you will have an Air Bag light.

pjS03 11-19-2011 04:06 AM

Thank you jmatta

Frodo 11-19-2011 04:12 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by John99Boxster (Post 264897)
Do a bit more research before you remove the electrical connection...I seem to remember something to do with disconnecting the battery first or you will have an Air Bag light.

True. My first DIY on my '01 was the alternator, a few years ago. Saved lots of $$ not going to the dealership to have it done, then had to turn around and cough up nearly $100 to have them "Check Airbags" (ie, turn off the damn CEL I got when I disconnected the wiring harness under the passenger seat in the process of removing it).