Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-11-2011, 01:50 PM   #1

Garage
Too good??

So I am totally new to boxster. I hope to purchase one soon. I found a great deal on a 2006 boxster s with 33k miles. They are asking 31k for it. It's a one owner car. The problem, it's 300 miles away and I have been talking on the phone. I asked why they did not CPO it? Well we would have to spend money. Oveall the car checks out clean. Had 2 warranty recalls, 1 for a oil cap and another for something minor. The invoice says boxster and not boxster s. But listing show 3.2l 6 speed do I am assuming it's an S and not just badged right? Please help

Xmode007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2011, 02:02 PM   #2

Never assume anything, especially on a car purchase!

See it in person, get a PPI, do whatever it takes to pick it apart. Porsche maintenance is not cheap and it's better to find out every issue (no matter how small) up front.

Any pictures of the vehicle? Post them and someone could probably identify it from S or base. The seller should be able to answer that question. Interior pics? Is it a manual or TIP?
stateofidleness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2011, 02:10 PM   #3

Garage
Here's the link.
Link http://www.vwofocalafl.com/VehicleDetails/used-2006-Porsche-Boxster-2dr_Roadster_S-Ocala-FL/1135233453
Old 08-11-2011, 02:15 PM   #4

That car is definitely ...

... an "S".
But do invest in a PPI.
It will be the best money you spend on that car.
A good PPI will give you enough information to make a smart decision about the purchase.
It should also tell you what the market value for that particular car in that market should be.
I know, that's what I do for a living (PPI).
Good luck.
Happy Boxstering,
Pedro
Old 08-11-2011, 02:17 PM   #5

Garage
How could one arrange ppi? The car is at a Porsche dealership.