Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-18-2011, 02:12 PM   #1

How to remove rear trunk motor

Hello all

I'm new to the Boxster world. Recently bought a 2000 Boxster S. Learning more and more about it reading all I can. Now, the rear trunk motor is working, but the cable is broken. I wanted to take the motor out and see if I could replace the cable or something, but I can find out how to only take the motor out., Look like you need to take all the rear wing assembly out just to have accces to the rear trunk motor.

Is there a simpler way to dismount the rear trunk motor.

Thanks
Chris

Last edited by wawa; 04-18-2011 at 03:47 PM.
wawa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 04:08 PM   #2

Garage
nope, taking that thing out is a pain in the ass. I know that one for a fact!
Lobo1186 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 04:30 PM   #3

Any instructions on how to remove the whole thing then? I need to inspect mine too.

Sam
sparker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 04:36 PM   #4

I have found the manuel shop in pdf somewhere on the web, but dont remember the adress. There is a section where they describ how to remove the rear spoiler. Does not sound fun. I'm not sure I want to go all that way, just to have the trunk opening at the push of a button on my key.

wawa
wawa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 04:27 AM   #5

See: http://www.pelicanparts.com/techarticles/Boxster_Tech/71-BODY-Convertible_Top_Repair/71-BODY-Convertible_Top_Repair.htm
jim_hoyland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 09:39 AM   #6

Garage