Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-22-2005, 08:13 AM   #1

Send a message via AIM to wombat7
Wanted to Introduce myself -> Updated Just drove a Box

Just wanted to say hi. My name is Chad, I'm a 20 year old Computer Engineering student at Rose-Hulman Institute of technology. I'm also an Air Force ROTC cadet. My current car is a 1984 Porsche 944 with 83K miles on it. I got it last year and absolutely fell in love with Porsche engineering.

I've just started becoming interested in Boxsters because I found out that I am most likely going to be stationed at Eglin AFB in FL and decided that instead of getting a truck as a winter driver, I would wait until I get to FL and get a drop top

I have a couple of questions for you guys...

1. I am an autocross adict and was wondering how the Boxster's, both 2.5 and 2.7 base models, are doing in SCCA races since being moved to AS.

2. How reliable are these cars? If I get one, it will be my only car and I won't be able to afford to have it off the road for a long time.

3. The other car that I'm looking at is a Honda S2K. Have any of you driven one of them and if so how would you compare it to you Boxster?

Thanks a lot guys!!

- Chad

Last edited by wombat7; 03-30-2005 at 12:32 PM.
wombat7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2005, 09:16 AM   #2

I do a bit of Autocross myslef. My last car was a 1.8 Miata with lots of Autocross oriented mods.
In my opinion this is the best car to autocross and drive daily.
But the chicks don't dig it like they do the Boxster

I've driven the the older S2000 and I have the 3.2 Boxster.
The first thing I can say is that its a differenc of low end response
and higher end performance. The boxster S in 2nd gear(autocross gear)