986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners

986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners (http://986forum.com/forums/)
-   Boxster General Discussions (http://986forum.com/forums/boxster-general-discussions/)
-   -   New 987 Owner (http://986forum.com/forums/boxster-general-discussions/22605-new-987-owner.html)

ryanpw3 10-28-2009 05:06 PM

New 987 Owner

Hi All,

Just wanted to say hi and post a pic. I'll work on some better pics in the future, but I bought this while in Dallas on a whim back in August. I absolutely love it and it has been nothing but fun. I'm using it as my daily driver to / from work. The dealer let me know it was a brass hat return so I am technically the original owner. 4K miles with an original sticker of $56,700. I got it for $40,300. Not sure if it's a good deal or not given that it's my first Porsche and I'm still learning, but I'm happy with it and hope it's a keeper for a while!

I know this is kind of open eneded, but as a new owner is there anything that sticks in your mind that is good for me to know based on the experience you had with your first Porsche?

Thanks!

clickman 10-28-2009 07:36 PM

What's a "brass hat return"?

vath2001 10-29-2009 02:24 AM

Brass Hat??? Hass Brat??

sd_boxster 10-29-2009 03:54 AM

Don't you people Google? :D

Slang. A high-ranking military officer. A high-ranking civilian official.

Quote:

Originally Posted by clickman
What's a "brass hat return"?

ryanpw3 10-29-2009 05:36 AM

Often times, auto makers give use of their cars to managers and executives once they reach a certain level in the company. They drive them for a certain amount of months or miles, and then the car is sold through a dealership. I've purchased two cars like this now, and both times it has been referred to as a Brass Hat vehicle.

sd_boxster 10-29-2009 06:04 AM

Sounds like a clever way to take depreciation as a loss in a single calendar year instead of having to amortize it.