Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-13-2009, 03:27 PM   #1

Cleaning Engine

I bought some engine degreaser (engine brite gel) and I'm aware that there are certain areas which should not be used with the degreaser chemical. What should I NOT use this on? Also if it is obvious to you, it may not be obvious to me. I've never done this before.

Viper5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 10:30 PM   #2

Some degreasers contain sodium hydroxide & alkaline salts - even diluted they will attack paintwork in the engine compartment - ask me how I know after cleaning down my wifes Volvo engine. The metalic red paint wiped off with a cleaning rag after I sprayed on the degreaser, leaving just the undercoat i gray!!!
I was not popular with her.....
Steve Tinker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 10:48 PM   #3

Yikes! I can imagine. So is there even any painted surfaces in the engine compartment? I didn't think there was.
Old 07-14-2009, 03:00 AM   #4

Use simple green.
ekam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 07:37 AM   #5

...or use S100 engine cleaner.
Keith Newby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2009, 10:04 PM   #6

As said previously, the product I already purchased is called Engine Brite Gel and is made by Gunk. The ingredients are as follows:

Petroleum Base Oil
Hydrocarbon Fluid
Petroleum Naphtha
Orange Oil
2-Butoxy Ethanol Surfactand Blend
Carbon Dioxide

It's not like I plan on using this on the paint of my vehicle so I don't know why I should worry about it eating paint, nonetheless it doesn't contain any of the aforementioned chemicals that are known to do this. Back to my original question though, where should I not use this substance (electrical housings, air filter, etc...). I don't know what is ok and not ok to use this on in the compartment.
Old 07-16-2009, 09:19 AM   #7