Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-15-2009, 04:49 PM   #1

Check Engine Light

Hello Everyone, newbie here. I bought a 97 Boxter a couple of weeks ago. I've gotten gas twice and the check engine light has gone on after both occasions. I took it back to the place I bought it after the first time and they got the light to go off and told me it may be the gas cap.

What I would like to know is if anyone knows how to cancel the check engine light. I have a 1500 Ram and it did this when I put a new gas cap on. It had something to do with disconnecting the battery and so on.

If I replace the gas cap will the light go off automatically or will I still need to take it to the shop and get it canceled. Thanks in advance for your help. [/SIZE]

goose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2009, 05:01 PM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by goose
Hello Everyone, newbie here. I bought a 97 Boxter a couple of weeks ago. I've gotten gas twice and the check engine light has gone on after both occasions. I took it back to the place I bought it after the first time and they got the light to go off and told me it may be the gas cap.

What I would like to know is if anyone knows how to cancel the check engine light. I have a 1500 Ram and it did this when I put a new gas cap on. It had something to do with disconnecting the battery and so on.

If I replace the gas cap will the light go off automatically or will I still need to take it to the shop and get it canceled. Thanks in advance for your help. [/SIZE]

Normally I would tell a car owner to unhook the battery cable for an hour, but Porsche owners don't have normal cars. You can try it but you will need to reset your radio code.