986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners

986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners (http://986forum.com/forums/)
-   Boxster General Discussions (http://986forum.com/forums/boxster-general-discussions/)
-   -   Which Zaino products for Seal Gray? (http://986forum.com/forums/boxster-general-discussions/20697-zaino-products-seal-gray.html)

yimmy149 05-19-2009 12:45 PM

Which Zaino products for Seal Gray?

I want to try claying and waxing my Seal Gray Boxster. The car is garaged on rainy days, and I'm hoping I don't need to wash it too often.

a) Is Zaino the right choice?

b) Which products should I use - I see some are better for light cars or dark cars, Seal Gray seems to be right in the middle.

Thanks.

-james

bmussatti 05-19-2009 04:00 PM

I have been using Zaino for 3 years. Great stuff. Good choice. I think you will be very happy with Z2 or Z5.

Mike_Yi 05-19-2009 04:00 PM

Zaino is generally deemed better for lighter colored cars rather than dark cars. Zaino will make your car very shiny, which most people find more appealing on lighter color cars. On dark color cars, most people go for a deep look. AFAIK, you can only get that with waxes. Zaino is not a wax, it's a polymer polish/sealant.

Having said that, I use Zaino on both of my cars. My Boxster is black, and my Firehawk is a medium, metallic orange (on the dark side of medium). I am very happy with the results. It gives the car a "candy coated" look. The main reason I use Zaino as opposed to wax on my cars is to save time. Zaino last around six months. Wax generally doesn't last that long. It takes me about 4 hours to do a "quick" wash on my Firehawk. A good wash with two coats of Zaino will take me all day. Therefore, I don't want to be doing that once a month.