Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-02-2007, 02:28 PM   #1

Question very tall drivers / custom seats?

Hi, I'm new to this excellent forum, and wonder if any of you are able to drive and love your Boxster while being tall. (I tried several searches of the forum but couldn't locate one exactly on point.)

I'm 6'5 1/2" tall, 220 lbs, not to put too fine a point on it.

Whenever I've had the need for speed, I've ridden a BMW motorcycle, which is adequate for the tall body type, but I've reached an age of encroaching sanity, and I swore that I would "get a sports car" after my last major accident/surgery, if I ever got the jones again.

And I really like the Boxster. I went down to my local Porsche dealer and he tried to sell me on a used 911 for the headroom, but I like the Boxster. I suppose I should rent a Boxster for a weekend to see if it works. (I could talk myself into anything on a test drive.)

I've been told that custom upholsterers can put in thinner, denser foam in the driver's seat, but this might present problems with heated seats?

Any experiences and advice welcomed.

dporcella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2007, 02:37 PM   #2
bmussatti

dporcella, well a lot depends if you are long legged or long waisted too. The 987 Boxster will have more leg & head room than the 986 Boxster.

GT3 seats might help too, but could sacrifice some comfort.

I am 6'2" and the Boxster is great.

Funny, I have more head-room in the Boxster than I do in my Ford Explorer.
Old 11-02-2007, 03:05 PM   #3
There Is No Substitute.

Garage
I am about 6' 1" and have no problem with fitting in my 986. You seem to be about 4.5" taller, but I don't think it should be a problem. A lot of taller boxster owners also do the GT3 center console delete to get more room. There are also a few threads on this, so search it.
Hope this Helps!