986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners

986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners (http://986forum.com/forums/)
-   Boxster General Discussions (http://986forum.com/forums/boxster-general-discussions/)
-   -   Dead end...please help! (http://986forum.com/forums/boxster-general-discussions/18504-dead-end-please-help.html)

mit6725 10-17-2008 02:00 PM

Dead end...please help!

To start with this is my first post and any help would be greatly appreciated.I have a 1999 Boxster 986 with the 2.5 litre 5 speed manual that I purchased in June of 2008 and has been a joy to own...until now! Last Thursday I brought my car into my dealership (I am a General Manager of a car dealership...another brand) to get it checked out before winter. My technician did an oil change, checked the anti-freeze and changed the air filter. I purchased the OEM oil filter and air filter from Suncoast (great price and service) as I live in Ontario and the closest Porsche dealer is 3 hours away. The air filter that was in the car was a very dirty K&N unit of which we replaced with the factory paper unit. Otherwise everything was normal and basic. I drove the car Thursday night and all day Friday and was thrilled as the car seemed to have much more get up and go which I assumed was due to a nice clean air filter. On the Saturday morning I filled the car with super unleaded fuel and tightened the new gas cap (replaced in July at a Porsche dealership due to a campaign) with many clicks as required and drove a short distance to work. Later in the day I was heading out of town and as I started on the highway the CEL came on (not flashing) so I went home (while taking it home it seemed to be running great) parked the car in the garage and took my other one on the trip. On Monday I drove the car to work (ran great) for my tech to check. He put on our scan tool and a P1128 code came up which we cleared. The car was still running great. That night as I drove it home