Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-17-2007, 01:25 PM   #1

wanna be porsche owner

I am moving to SF in the near future and have been offered a 1998 porsche boxster for 10 grand from a friend in the area. It needs a new clutch, air bags, and whatever is needed to pass emmisions. The car has about 120,000 miles on it. What else should I expect to need to do to this car within the next year (outside of registration) and how much should i expect to spend on top of the 10Gs? Can anyone suggest a shop in the bay area?

Like i said, i am new to porsche's. Have owned a volvo and a few audi's in the past and don't really know what i might be getting myself into, outside of a great fun car to drive. I am excited about the prospect of having my first convertible.

THANKS!!!

flywes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2007, 02:00 PM   #2

General rule of thumb is buy the newest low mileage Boxster you can find...
Having said that, take a look at Mike Focke's excellent guide to buying Boxsters.

Part 1
http://mike.focke.googlepages.com/buyingorsellinga1997-2004boxster

Part 2
http://mike.focke.googlepages.com/buyingcontinued

you'll want to know the service history of the car before you can really figure out what will need done both short, intermediate and long term. A new clutch is going to run $1,500 to $2,000 to start. Airbags... figure $700- $1500 each min depending on if they are door, steering wheel or dash. Curious as to why it needs airbags as you didn't mention any accident/damage .

Yearly maintenance (assuming all records up to date) will be $500-$1000 and Boxsters love tires - 20K on fronts, 10-15K on rears depending on how you drive at $100-$200 per tire depending on your preferences.