986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners

986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners (http://986forum.com/forums/)
-   Boxster General Discussions (http://986forum.com/forums/boxster-general-discussions/)
-   -   Hybernation is over! (http://986forum.com/forums/boxster-general-discussions/10109-hybernation-over.html)

drburton 03-17-2007 11:41 AM

Hybernation is over!

Took the car out of hibernation today, so this is the first time it has been touched since the beginning of November.

Thanks to Jim and others who contributed to the post on how to store a car. This is my first time and it worked great. Car started up with no issues, all is working well.

Went for a spin today and that sound is intoxicating, I missed it. :)

After months of driving a luxury SUV, the ride was abusive, I forgot about that. Only going to get worse when I add the 19" wheels. I'll get used to it..

The Box will probably see limited use in the next month, but I'm excited to have her out and ready to roll :dance:

bmussatti 03-17-2007 11:47 AM

Hey husband of a Doctor Burton, what did it sound like when the engine turned over and fired for the first time? Did it make any strange sounds till the oil got pumping? Any smoke in the tail end?

Don't worry about the 19" they ride nice.

drburton 03-17-2007 12:01 PM

It actually started right up, no delay or anything. Just pushed the key over and it went, didn't apply gas either.

The engine sounded normal in idle but the exhaust was initially a bit white for a minute or so then went to normal.

I was surprised, thought it might take some work to get her started.

Rodger 03-17-2007 12:04 PM

I'm so jealous....it's still barely creeping into the 20s here during the day.

I'm still about a month away from putting the key to mine, and I expect lots of bad noises when I do.

porschegeorg 03-17-2007 01:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Schnell!